“It all worked out for the best”

Before the Christmas holidays started we Interviewed Silvia Iori, an Erasmus student from the University of Milan, Italy. This is how she summed-up her semester in Flensburg.

Let us start with a typical question: Why Flensburg? What did you expect?

The charming location on the border with Denmark drew me here. I wanted to see how two cultures combine, but I ended up discovering many more cultures in the process! Also, a good friend of mine studies here, it was an opportunity to meet her more often. To be honest, I had no great expectations: I was vaguely familiar with stereotypes like ‘Germans are punctual and drink beer only’, but I wanted to get to know this country better.

img-20181224-wa0004

Was it hard to get used to life in Germany? Is there something you will miss? Did you ever think “this is better in Italy”?

I struggled a lot at the beginning, mostly because of the language barrier. The frankness of Germans immediately caught me off guard, when they told me that I had to do better I felt guilty. Instead, I am pleasantly impressed by the respect people have for the environment, even just the use of ‘Pfand’ for bottles. I will miss this in Italy. Getting used to a new university system was not easy. I think students have a higher workload in Italy than here and that they are generally better-prepared, but I also appreciate discussions in class and take-home papers, which were new to me.

screenshot_2019-01-05-09-54-49_1

Any tips for future Erasmus students in Flensburg?

Just be open to what is different and try not to judge other cultures. I recommend visiting the beautiful city of Berlin, but also to explore every hidden corner of Flensburg. Taking part in university events is really helpful to meet new people and to get in contact with locals.

Your Erasmus is almost over. Would you repeat it? Would change something?

If I had a magical wand, I would repeat it in a heartbeat. I just regret not attending the German courses, which unfortunately coincided with my lessons. I would also like to experience the first weeks again, which was not a success as I was scared and could not open up to others. But in the end, it all worked out for the best.

Thank you Silvia, enjoy your last weeks in Germany!

img-20181224-wa0007

Camilla Guidi

Leave a comment